Autor Thema: EgiGeoZone -vs- EgiGeoZoneBT  (Gelesen 616 mal)

cv27

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Beiträge: 18
  • Gerät: Samsung Galaxy S4/S5
  • Version: Android 5.0.1
EgiGeoZone -vs- EgiGeoZoneBT
« am: 31.01.2017, 19:56:47 »
Does EgiGeoZoneBT include all the functionality of the previous EgiGeoZone?


The reason I'm asking is that ever since I moved to the BT version (1.0.4), only fencing seems to work, nothing for tracking.  I don't have any iBeacons, I migrated to the BT version thinking it was the successor to the previos version.  Another strange behavior is that the log (Android), set to 'error', is empty.
« Letzte Änderung: 01.02.2017, 07:12:54 von Admin »

Admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Beiträge: 759
    • EgiGeoZone
  • Gerät: Xiaomi Redmi Note 5, Samsung Galaxy Note 2, S4, S5, S2, S7
  • Version: MIUI 10.0 Global, Android 4.4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 8.1, 12, 13
Re: EgiGeoZone -vs- EgiGeoZoneBT
« Antwort #1 am: 31.01.2017, 20:28:48 »
Zitat
Does EgiGeoZoneBT include all the functionality of the previous EgiGeoZone?
The previous EgiGeoZone beta version should be the same as the new EgiGeoZoneBT also a beta plus a few enhancements.

The non beta EgiGeoZone is same as the beta without the beacon things.

Zitat
only fencing seems to work, nothing for tracking.  I don't have any iBeacons, I migrated to the BT version thinking it was the successor to the previos version.  Another strange behavior is that the log (Android), set to 'error', is empty.
I will take a look at this bugs.

Edit: How do you use the tracking? With file, mail or server profile? Can you see the feets symbol in the notification bar? Is a green dot in the tracking settings?

« Letzte Änderung: 31.01.2017, 20:40:34 von Admin »
Schöne Grüße
Egmont

cv27

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Beiträge: 18
  • Gerät: Samsung Galaxy S4/S5
  • Version: Android 5.0.1
Re: EgiGeoZone -vs- EgiGeoZoneBT
« Antwort #2 am: 01.02.2017, 00:07:55 »
Thank you for the prompt reply.


I wanted to describe my setup, I actually did (see below) and then I realized my problem.  When I exported/imported my settings from the EgiGeoZone beta to the EgiGeoZoneBT beta, I did a superficial check to ensure the parameters had been carried over correctly, but it was missing the most important parameter: where to send the tracking information.

So may I suggest you review the export/import process as this process was incomplete on 2 devices.





I'll try to describe my setup.  Keep in mind though that I exported/imported my settings from the EgiGeoZone beta to the EgiGeoZoneBT beta and I have made no other changes.

Samsung S4 & S5 (battery optimization Off), both on 1.0.4

1- Settings
     - Pathsense
     - Notification On for enter/exit
     - Location tracking: state is green, polling at default 5 min.

[/size]2- Fence definition (green, but I'm in it currently)
[/size]    - points to a Server profile
[/size]    - track On for 'enter zone' and 'exit zone'
[/size]    - Interval to log = 0
[/size]    - track to server profile

[/size]3- Profile (type server)
[/size]    - URL Fhem: points to HomeSeer PHLocation plugin
[/size]    - URL for tracking: EMPTY !!!



Admin: Edited font size
« Letzte Änderung: 01.02.2017, 06:57:17 von Admin »

Admin

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Beiträge: 759
    • EgiGeoZone
  • Gerät: Xiaomi Redmi Note 5, Samsung Galaxy Note 2, S4, S5, S2, S7
  • Version: MIUI 10.0 Global, Android 4.4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 8.1, 12, 13
Re: EgiGeoZone -vs- EgiGeoZoneBT
« Antwort #3 am: 01.02.2017, 07:12:27 »
Yes, this was a bug in the app, but only with Android 7+. Google removed an encryption provider. Then when importing the passwords couldn't be decrypted and the import of server and email profiles was aborted.
So I had to change the enryption/decryption algorithm for the passwords. If you now import an older exported file, then it will work, but the passwords will be left empty, because the app can not decrypt them fron the old format. From now on the export and import should be again compatible.

But I think this was not your problem. I will look to find the bug.

Zitat
Another strange behavior is that the log (Android), set to 'error', is empty.
This is normal, when no errors happen.

So now all is working for you?


Edit: I found the problem. The tracking settings were not exported and again imported. I will fix it in the next update.
« Letzte Änderung: 01.02.2017, 08:07:38 von Admin »
Schöne Grüße
Egmont